

ODOT Recipient of Prestigious National Pavement Awards FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 2, 2015 PR# 15-007

Two recent Oklahoma Department of Transportation projects received national recognition for project excellence from the American Concrete Pavement Association. The awards were presented to ODOT at the ACPA's 25th annual "Excellence in Concrete Pavement" awards which recognize companies and agencies for safe, efficient and durable concrete pavements. The awards were presented at the closing banquet ceremony as part of ACPA's 51st Annual Meeting on Dec. 5 in Scottsdale, AZ.

The National Excellence in Concrete Pavement award is the concrete pavement industry's highest and most prestigious recognition. The awards are sponsored jointly by ACPA and Concrete Construction Magazine and distinguish projects for quality, efficiency, smoothness, reduced costs and minimized road-user delays.

Of the 26 awards given nationally this year, three were awarded to ODOT involved projects.

The Oklahoma Department of Transportation received the silver award in the divided highway (rural) category for a \$26 million pavement rehabilitation project on I-40 in Okmulgee and Okfuskee counties. The more than 6 mile project was completed ahead of schedule, under budget and also received an incentive for the smoothness of the final surface. The contractor also incorporated several innovations to help overcome weather delays as well as reduce truck trips by processing and reusing the old concrete on site. The project was designed by ODOT and constructed by Duit Construction/TTK Construction Company.

The second silver award received by ODOT was in the highway overlay category for the concrete pavement overlay of the Okarche bypass in Kingfisher County. The \$4.8 million project, which ODOT had oversight on, resurfaced four miles of the county road in only three months and in variable sections to best accommodate local farm traffic. The project was designed by Tetra Tech Inc. and Russell Engineering and constructed by Duit Construction.

A third silver award was given to the SH-19 and Latta Rd. project in Ada, a cooperative effort between ODOT, ATKINS Engineering, City of Ada and Chickasaw Nation. The Latta Road Project consisted of adding dedicated turn lanes in all directions of the SH-19/Latta Rd. intersection, a major artery entering the city of Ada, the headquarters location for the Chickasaw Nation. All work was completed accident-free, under budget, and ahead of schedule, earning the contractor an early completion bonus.

The American Concrete Pavement Association is the national trade association for the concrete pavement industry. The primary mission of the ACPA is to create and maintain a strong national presence through dynamic, strategic leadership; effective technical expertise and resources; and persuasive advocacy on behalf of the concrete pavement industry.

- www.odot.org -

(Editors and News Directors: FOR MEDIA INQUIRIES, please contact ODOT Media and Public Relations Division at 405-521-6000.)

3

E U

OKLAHOMA

21st



The Oklahoma Department of Transportation was awarded the American Concrete Pavement Association's Silver Award in the divided highway (rural) category for a \$26 million pavement rehabilitation project on I-40 in Okmulgee and Okfuskee counties. The project was designed by ODOT and constructed by Duit Construction/TTK Construction Company.

Pictured left to right are Greg Love, Transportation Commission Chairman; John Fidler, District 1 Transportation Commission Member; John Jones, Duit Construction; Darren Saliba, ODOT Division One Engineer; Brent Burwell, ACPA Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter; Mike Lipps, Duit Construction and Mike Patterson, ODOT Executive Director..



The Oklahoma Department of Transportation was awarded the American Concrete Pavement Association's Silver Award in the highway overlay category for the \$4.8 million concrete pavement overlay of the Okarche bypass in Kingfisher County, which ODOT oversaw. The project was designed by Tetra Tech Inc. and Russell Engineering and constructed by Duit Construction.

Pictured left to right are Donald Russell, Russell Engineering; Greg Love, Transportation Commission Chairman; John Jones, Duit Construction; Brian Taylor, ODOT Division Four Engineer; Brent Burwell, ACPA Oklahoma/Arkansas Chapter; Mike Lipps, Duit Construction and Mike Patterson, ODOT Executive Director.